About Us

Pictured: The US East-West Leadership Team:
From (l) to (r) Sisters Anne Malone, Mary Farren, Barbara English, Catherine Waldron, Edie Daly, Barbara Barry

The US East-West Province of the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur was established in September 2014.

The province stretches from the eastern shores of New England through the Mid-Atlantic and south to the western shores of California and Washington.

The new province was born from the initiative of sisters from the former Boston, Ipswich, Connecticut, Chesapeake and California Provinces who joined together to create the new East-West Province.

Founded by Saint Julie Billiart in France in 1804, the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur are an international congregation of women religious who live lives of prayer, service and community and serve in a variety of ministries, always with an educational focus. These ministries range from formal education in pre-school through university settings, non-formal education in community settings for those seeking a GED, language and citizenship preparation for immigrants, and workforce readiness and development for adults. Sisters also engage in pastoral ministries, social services and initiatives that foster justice, peace and care of the environment. Collage of sisters from the unit.